Baby Mugshot or Passport Photo?

Baby passport
Avery’s passport photo

Wanted: female infant, 26 inches tall, 12 pounds, brown eyes (or at least we think they’ll turn out brown), and very little hair.

Offense: refusing to smile in passport photo.

Soon-to-be armed with a potentially explosive poop.

That should probably be how the physical description inside Avery’s passport reads. Let’s be honest, I think my kid is the cutest baby in the world, but her passport picture doesn’t necessarily reflect that. For one, she refused to smile. Two, I had to take her bow off, which any southern mama would agree is practically a sin.

At 3 months old, I took Avery to a local Walgreen’s to get her first passport photo taken. She could hold her head up decently at that age, but could not yet sit on her own. So there I was holding her up, while trying to keep my hands out of the shot. The pimply faced teenager with the point-and-shoot camera didn’t care that my sweet girl is infinitely cuter when she smiles, so no attempt was made to make her giggle before the photo was snapped.

So, for the next five years, throughout all of her international travels, Avery’s picture will look like it belongs on America’s Most Wanted Babies. Ok, so that isn’t a real show, but if it was, my daughter’s mugshot, uh, I mean, passport photo, would certainly be included.

By the way, smile or no smile, I still think Avery is the cutest kid in the world.

 

One thought on “Baby Mugshot or Passport Photo?

Leave a Reply

